Step #1: Task DefinitionStep #2: Info Seeking StrategiesStep #3: Location and AccessStep #4: Use of InformationStep #5: SynthesisStep #6: Evaluation
Link to our Databases and Resources
Boolean SearchGoogle
How to Avoid Plagiarism
Remembering What You Read
This is the "One-Page Database Guide" page of the "Research Process" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Process  

Last Updated: Jun 18, 2014 URL: http://shs.shenango.libguides.com/research Print Guide RSS Updates

One-Page Database Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

We're here for you!

Welcome to Shenango High School's Information Center!  Check out our many helpful online databases, all here on one page for you! 

See Mrs. Scott for login/passwords.

 

World Book Online

See Mrs. Scott for login/password.

 

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher provides in-depth analysis of current events world-wide.
See Mrs. Scott for login/password.

 

Salem Press Online

For literary criticism, history/biography and more. Click "Registered User Login."
See Mrs. Scott for login/password.



 

Career Cruising

Have questions about your future? Login to compare careers and schools, search for scholarships, and take career assessments.  Save under a personal profile (you will be prompted to set up a portfolio before you can do anything else). 

See Mrs. Scott for login/password.

 

Ask Here PA

Homework help/information 24/7!  
Staffed by Librarians across PA.

Access PA

Search for items in libraries across Pennsylvania.  You can search, then ask Mrs. Scott to request the item.

 

News Around the World

Loading Loading...
blank padding
  


 

Destiny Card Catalog

Search this box to locate items in our collection.
Type your search term and click on a button below the search box!

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Encyclopedia Britannica

Click Below to Access:

2facts.com * Facts on File * See Mrs. Scott for login/password.

Three rich databases for science, history and current news. 
Use the "Need a Research Topic?" feature for locating topics. 
Teachers, see the Curriculum Tools section for ideas.

 

Biography Reference Center

Current and historical articles on thousands of people.
Click "continue your research" if you see a "Persistent Link Login."

Biography Reference Center
Limit Your Results

POWER Library Resources

Try using a variety of the POWER Library databases. Look at the variety here: 

If you are looking for information on

  • historical images and graphics, use AP Images
  • a picture interface for grades K-8, use Kids Search
  • homework help for grades 5-9, use Searchasaurus
  • articles and help for grades 4-adult, use SIRS Discoverer
  • a magazine resource for grades 5-9, use Middle Search Plus
  • author/literature info, use Contemporary Authors
  • environmental issues, use GreenFILE
  • scientific information, use Science Full Text Select
  • health-related information, use Consumer Health Complete
  • general information from magazines, use OmniFile Select
  • general information from magazines, use MasterFile
  • general information from newspapers, use Newspaper Source Plus

When searching for your topic, use keywords in quotation marks to get the best results (this works in search engines too.) Use AND to search both terms in the same article. Use NOT to eliminate articles that contain information.

"religious freedom" "stem cell research"
"genetically altered food" "animal rights"
"sex education" "gas drilling"
"school uniforms" "free speech"
vaccines AND autism marijuana NOT "medical use"
 

GVRL: Gale Virtual Reference Library

Includes: American Decades; World Biography, Worldmark Nations, Novels for Students, Film, Medicine, and more. Try it! See Mrs. Scott for login.

  


Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mrs. Scott
 

Mackin VIA E-books

See Mrs. Scott for login/password.

Mackin VIA
 

Infobase E-books

See Mrs. Scott for login/password. After login, click "Available Titles" at top of Infobase search screen.

 

CultureGrams

For fascinating country and culture insight!

Europe Asia Oceania North America None Africa Africa None South America
 

What do you think....

How do you learn best?





 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip